Aker, “Bender”

So.. To start my research I have already some things, but there are not too much, about this Name. Actually there is too little information on this Name. And I think I resume it well. I could make more text and such, but this is the basic, and, what I know about Him, with the little I found.

Acknowledge that I’m writing from what I’ve searched under the internet, and had written in my studies book. So.. I don’t have the sources, but I wanted to let you know that there ARE sources. I just don’t have the links and such. Sometimes I use Henadology. Other times I use Wikipedia. Many times the book: The Complete Gods and Goddesses of Ancient Egypt by Richard H. Wilkinson. But I always put the name on Google and search about The name on many websites.
Acknowledge as well, that I may be wrong, and, if it happens, let me know!!

Thank you. Let’s start:

 

Aker, meaning “Bender” or “(one) who bends”, was an earth God (one before Geb), and was also the deification of the horizon. He was a guardian of the gates to the underworld.

He protected Ra during His daily trip into the underworld, and He defeated Him, as well, from the chaos serpent, Apep, and, by this myth, the egyptians believed that He could cure any snake bite.

Overall, He is an protective deity. His statue was used in temples and such to ward off evil spirtis. The Greeks called it sphinxes.
His symbol is two lions back-to-back to each other, and, in between them there is a hieroglyph for the horizon, with two montains and a sun. These lions were known as the Yesterday and the Today. The Past and the Present. I leave to you His symbol down here.

That’s all, I do think! Hope you enjoyed it!

2000px-aker-svg

2 thoughts on “Aker, “Bender””

Leave a Reply

