Amentet, “She of the West”

To continue.. Actually I didn’t find a lot about this Goddess, and, for me and for many (maybe in the Kemetic Orthodoxy view, as well), Amentet will not be a Goddess but a epithet of Hethert.

Acknowledge that I’m writing from what I’ve searched under the internet, and had written in my studies book. So.. I don’t have the sources, but I wanted to let you know that there ARE sources. I just don’t have the links and such. Sometimes I use Henadology. Other times I use Wikipedia. Many times the book: The Complete Gods and Goddesses of Ancient Egypt by Richard H. Wilkinson. But I always put the name on Google and search about The name on many websites.
Acknowledge as well, that I may be wrong, and, if it happens, let me know!!

Thank you. Let’s start:

 

Amentet or Imentet, meaning “She of the West”, was a Goddess (for some), and a epithet (for others and for me, as well..) of Hethert, as I already mention.

But I’ll talk about Her role, whether as Goddess, whether as the epithet.

She was the personification of the West (be aware that the Egyptians refered to the West both as Underworld and as the West itself). She wecolmed the deceased in the underworld, and was also considered a fertility and rebirth Goddess, by this means, when the deceased came in to the underworld, She offered them water and food, to help regenerate their spirits.

It has been told that She lived in a tree looking out to the entrance of the Underworld, to help and receive the dead. She is depicted with the symbol of the West in Her head, and, with a spectre and/or and ankh in Her hand/s.

Below I’ll show Her. In the first image is Hethert, in Her form of Amentet. The second doesn’t offer quality but is meant to be Her. She is the one on the left.

2 thoughts on “Amentet, “She of the West””

Leave a Reply

