Anhur, “Bringer of the Distant One”

I just wanted to say that some view this as a God and others see it as a form or aspect of Shu. I see it as the second.

Acknowledge that I’m writing from what I’ve searched under the internet, and had written in my studies book. So.. I don’t have the sources, but I wanted to let you know that there ARE sources. I just don’t have the links and such. Sometimes I use Henadology. Other times I use Wikipedia. Many times the book: The Complete Gods and Goddesses of Ancient Egypt by Richard H. Wilkinson. But I always put the name on Google and search about The name on many websites.
Acknowledge as well, that I may be wrong, and, if it happens, let me know!!

Thank you. Let’s start:

 

Anhur, most known by His greek name Onuris, meaning “(One Who) Leads Back the Distant One”, was a god of war.

His name meaning is based on His myth where it has been said that He traveled to Nubia to bring back His leonine consort, Mehit, in this myth He parallels Shu who was also considered to have brought back the fearsome “eye” as His own consort, Tefnut.

Remember when I said He was a god of war?? This comes from His myth where He hunted and slew the enemies of His father, Ra. His epithet in this form is “Slayer of Enemies”.

Other epithet of His is “Sky-Bearer”. He is depicted as a standing god, bearded and with a short wig surmounted by a uraeus and either 2 or 4 tall plumes.

320px-shu-svg

1 thought on “Anhur, “Bringer of the Distant One””

Leave a Reply

