Apis, the Bull

I didn’t find the meaning of His name, then in the title I put: the Bull. Although, Apis is not the only Bull God.

Acknowledge that I’m writing from what I’ve searched under the internet, and had written in my studies book. So.. I don’t have the sources, but I wanted to let you know that there ARE sources. I just don’t have the links and such. Sometimes I use Henadology. Other times I use Wikipedia. Many times the book: The Complete Gods and Goddesses of Ancient Egypt by Richard H. Wilkinson. But I always put the name on Google and search about The name on many websites.
Acknowledge as well, that I may be wrong, and, if it happens, let me know!!

Thank you. Let’s start:

 

Apis, or even Hapis, not to be confused with Hapi (son of Heru), nor Hapi (the Nile god), was a bull god. Apis may be seen as the manifestation of Ptah, as well, or even Wesir when Ptah and Him merged.

“When an Apis bull died, the body was embalmed and buried with full honours in the manner befitting royalty . The animal was carefully embalmed and mummified before being interred in the “Serapeum” in a stone sarchophagus that could weight over 60 tons.

The Festival of the Apis Bull lasted for seven days. The sacred bull was led through the streets as the people cheered. According to legend, any child who smelled the breath of the Apis would be able to read the future as the Apis was thought to be a powerful oracle.”

– Ancient Egypt Online, http://www.ancientegyptonline.co.uk/bullcult.html

 

“The bull had to be black, with a white triangle on his forehead and wing-like markings on his back, a mark like a scarab under his tongue and the hair of his tail divided into two strands.”

– Henadology, https://henadology.wordpress.com/theology/netjeru/apis/

apis-sculpture-kal503

1 thought on “Apis, the Bull”

Leave a Reply

