Aten, “Sun’s Disk”

Sorry for the time I was absent, but I hope you enjoyed your holidays! So.. Talking about this deity.. I’ve seen that there is a religion, called Atenism, which He is the only god, like the Christian God to the christians and catholics. For me that was a misheard from the part of the paraoh who said it, but I don’t really know.. He may be seen as a form of Ra, for representing the sun, or even Heru or Shu.

Acknowledge that I’m writing from what I’ve searched under the internet, and had written in my studies book. So.. I don’t have the sources, but I wanted to let you know that there ARE sources. I just don’t have the links and such. Sometimes I use Henadology. Other times I use Wikipedia. Many times the book: The Complete Gods and Goddesses of Ancient Egypt by Richard H. Wilkinson. But I always put the name on Google and search about The name on many websites.
Acknowledge as well, that I may be wrong, and, if it happens, let me know!!

Thank you. Let’s start:

 

Aten, or even Aton, meaning “Sun’s Disk”, was, as His name meaning says it, the disk of the sun. Originally He was an aspect (some say the obscure aspect) of the sun god, Ra. But later He was seen more like a God in a monolatry, not monotheism, because Akhenaten never denied the existence of other gods, He just worshiped only Aten.

“The deified Aten is the focus of the religion of Atenism established by Amenhotep IV, who later took the name Akhenaten (died ca. 1335 BCE) in worship and recognition of Aten. In his poem “Great Hymn to the Aten“, Akhenaten praises Aten as the creator, giver of life, and nurturing spirit of the world. Aten does not have a Creation Myth or family, but is mentioned in the Book of the Dead. The worship of Aten was eradicated by Horemheb.”

– Wikipedia, https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Aten

Now a next quote that I find very interesting..

“The Aten was worshipped in the open sunlight, rather than in dark temple enclosures, as the old gods had been. However, far from being open to the people, only Akhenaten (and his family) could connect with the god. In the Hymn to the Aten, Akhenaten states “there is none who knows thee save thy son Akhenaten”. Perhaps unsurprisingly, excavations at Akhetaten (Armarna) have indicated that the ordinary people did not take to the new religion but continued to worship the old gods in private.”

– Ancient Egypt Online, http://www.ancientegyptonline.co.uk/amarnareligion.html

I didn’t found almost anything about Him before Akhenaten.. After Akhenaten is that things about the Atenism, and I won’t put that here written but I will leave links (you can just insert Aten in google, I know, but I prefer to put them here) that you may learn more about this so called Atenism religion and about Aten Himself:

aten

aten_ankh_hands2

One thought on “Aten, “Sun’s Disk””

Leave a Reply

